Price and Mendelssohn

Price and Mendelssohn

Find yourself inspired by the innovators and dreamers of the past and the talented prodigies of today.


  • Torke: Ash
  • Price: Piano Concerto, featuring soloist Clayton Stephenson
  • Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 4

Program Notes

Something New and Something Old: Join the DSSO as we introduce Duluth’s audience to two spectacular works. Michael Torke’s Ash was inspired by Beethoven’s music and lacks none of the master’s energy and power. Then we hear, for the first time in the Twin Ports, Florence Price’s wonderful Piano Concerto, featuring our young soloist Clayton Stephenson. Ms. Price was one of the first Black female composers to come to prominence during the first half of the 20th century and this work is truly an undiscovered gem of the repertoire. Finally, we enjoy light, sunshine and lust for life with Mendelssohn’s Italian Symphony.

In-person tickets are available! Call 218-623-DSSO (3776) to purchase tickets (phone orders only). In-person tickets are $20 per seat.   Read about the precautions we have taken to make in-person concerts safe this spring!

20-21 Season Subscribers Get MORE:

  • FREE access to all virtual DSSO Live performances
  • Access to attend concerts in person at Symphony Hall

DSSO LiveIntroducing DSSO Live

Stream live concerts from your living room! 

DSSO Live is a brand new at-home experience that connects you and viewers across the country with the music you love. You’re guaranteed to have the best seat in the house!
Learn more >>

Thanks to our sponsors for this concert:

Saturday, April 17, 2021 • 7:00 PM
Duluth, MN, United States
DECC Symphony Hall
$20 (in person) or $10 (virtual)

Venue Details

350 Harbor Drive
Duluth, MN 55802
United States