The Dream of America

presented by north shore bank logompr_logo Citon Computersplogo

Osvaldo Golijov takes us on an incredible journey with his stunningly beautiful composition Azul for solo cello, accordion and two world percussionists. This modern day American composer owes much to the trailblazers who created the American sound: Aaron Copland (Fanfare to the Common Man) and Antonin Dvorak, who inspired generations of American composers with his marvelous New World Symphony. Enjoy a new perspective on this well known work as we provide real-time program notes during the music, available on your smart phone!

Soloists – Matt Haimovitz, cello

Michael Ward-Bergeman, Hyper-Accordion

Eugene Koshinski, World Percussion

Tim Broscious, World Percussion

Copland – Fanfare for the Common Man

Golijov – Azul

Dvorak – Symphony No. 9 (From the New World)

Remembering the life of Prince today and looking forward to our ‘PURPLE’ NYE tribute concert.…